All About the Sea Story

So I’ve been tagged a couple of times for the Next Big Thing meme, and I think it’s about time I did something about it! Read Shari’s here — she tagged me back in November and has been very patient in waiting for me to take my turn.

Here we go! This story has been waiting in the wings for quite awhile. I’m very excited it is now getting its turn.

What is the working title of your book?
The Sea Wolves.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I’ve been trying to write this story since I was a teenager — a story about the sea and all the conflicting emotions that come with it for me. There have been many plots and many characters but it wasn’t until 2011 that I came upon the right ones.

I was on my big USA road trip with friends and we were in Washington State. We had plans to go on a whale cruise, to see the orcas that live in the Salish Sea. We wanted this so much. It didn’t happen. We ended up stranded on San Juan Island, waiting for the next ferry. No boats were going out and we didn’t have any idea what to do. We spent several hours wandering around Friday Harbor, and then it began to rain, as it tends to do in that part of the country. We ducked into the first building we saw, which ended up being the whale museum. It was there that I first learned about the Pacific Northwest folklore surrounding killer whales. It was there that my story began to brew.

What genre does your book fall under?
At the moment I’m calling it a supernatural thriller, although I’m not sure I’m far enough into it to have much of an idea what it is yet.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This is Anna:

 

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
It will take me a draft or two before I can distill the story to that extent. This is the best I have so far:

On the anniversary of her father’s death, Anna Delmore attends a funeral. People are dying on Skana Island, swallowed up by the icy sea, the same way Anna’s father was a year ago. The islanders believe hanging whalebone over their doorways and stringing red beads in their hair will save them from death, but Anna doesn’t believe in the islander’s magic. No, she believes the threat comes not from the sea, but from the islanders themselves, and that superstition can be deadly.

 When the islanders mount a hunt to kill the orcas they believe responsible for the deaths, Anna will have to team up with the faithful son of the local police chief, and maybe find a glimpse of magic herself, in order to stop them.

 Based on Pacific Northwest folklore surrounding killer whales, The Sea Wolves will appeal to fans of Laini Taylor and Maggie Stiefvater.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Agent, hopefully.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
Still workin’ on it. First drafts generally take me 6 months, give or take.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
As above, anything by Laini Taylor or Maggie Stiefvater, although they are infinitely more talented than I am.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The sea, the sea, always the sea. All my firsts happened in close proximity to the ocean. All my best moments and some of my worst moments happened within view of the waves, as an adult and especially as a teenager. All the heartache, all the confusion, all the insight, all the beauty and pain. It has always been about the sea for me. And now I get to write about it.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
Sea monsters and stories, murder and revenge, superstition and magic.

Friday Harbour
Friday Harbor

And I tag… well, I may be the last person on the planet to do this meme, so I don’t have anyone to tag. But if you want to have a go, let me know and I’ll tag you officially.

Advertisements
All About the Sea Story

6 thoughts on “All About the Sea Story

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s